Menü

History

The Reformed Parish in Oberwart, Austria
(Evangelical Church of Helvetic Confession)
 
Reformed Christians live side by side with Roman Catholics and Lutherans in the town of Oberwart in the Province of Burgenland. Their parish is the only one in Austria that has been in continuous existence since the Reformation. 
The parishioners are descendants of the former royal Hungarian border guards, who had been living in this area for more than a thousand years. The name "Oberwart" (upper frontier guarding area) refers to their history. The border guards were raised to noble rank, they reported directly to the king. During the Counter Reformation, neither sovereigns nor magnates were able to force them to join the Catholic Church. However, the storms of the Counter Reformation did not pass over Oberwart without leaving traces. The original parish church was violently occupied by German mercenaries in 1673 and returned to the Catholics, even though the entire population of Oberwart confessed the Reformed faith at that time. A marble plaque recalls the "Reformed past" of what is today a Catholic church building, dating back to the Middle Ages, the steeple of which was built by Reformed Christians. 
Subsequently, the parish held its services in a wooden church for almost one hundred years. In 1681, the Provincial Diet at Sopron ruled that the Reformed church in Oberwart was to become a so-called "Artikularkirche" (i.e. one of few tolerated places of Protestant worship) serving a very large area. Even before the Toleration Act, the parishioners fought for and won the right to build the present church, which was constructed in 1771 - 73, ten years prior to the Toleration Act of Emperor Josef II. 
The Reformed church in Oberwart is thus the oldest Protestant church in present day Austria. The old vicarage of the parish was built in 1784 and is one of the oldest and most beautiful arcade-buildings of South Burgenland. It is a protected cultural property. 
Today the Reformed parish in Oberwart has approximately 1400 members. Services are now conducted both in German and in Hungarian. The community, which was originally all Hungarian, became part of Austria along with the province of Burgenland after the First World War. It is now a valuable member of the Evangelical (Reformed) Church of Helvetic Confession in Austria. 
Throughout the centuries, their sense of commitment to the Lord has prompted the parishioners to take responsibility for and to shape the fate of the parish. The democratic Presbyterian principles of the parish have shown the way for the future development of the town goverment. True, the parish is only a Diaspora, a small isolated minority, but it has acquired great importance in the past and also in the present. The Reformed school, which came into being in the 17th century, was a famous institution, until it was taken over by the state in the year 1938. One of the oldest cultural institutions of the province of Burgenland, the Reading Circle of the Reformed Youth, founded in the year 1889, has continuously played an important role in organizing the cultural life of the parish. The Reading Circle has within ist framework a large Hungarian library, a folk dancing group, a group of amateur theatricals, and a large variety of cultural events. It has acquired importance as an upholder of the Hungarian culture of the minority and it has encouraged the cultural life of the parish to come to fruition. 
On an international level, the parish has gained prominence in many parts of Europe through the "Oberwartkonferenz" ("Conference of Reformed Ministers in Europe") as well as through the many German and Hungarian language church services broadcast from Oberwart throughout the past decades, which in difficult times have been a source of spiritual strength for the faith of fellow Christians in many parts of Europe. 
The parish has played a leading role in creating a spirit of brotherliness between the members of all Confessions in Oberwart and in the realization of oecumenical activities. Many oecumenical services and other oecumenical functions have helped the parishioners along on their way to mutual understanding and appreciation of each other. 
Of most importance, however, is the ever-willing and clear witness this parish bears to the Lord, Jesus Christ.

Menü

Geschichte

Die Reformierte Pfarrgemeinde in Oberwart

(Evangelische Kirche helvetischen Bekenntnisses) 

In der Stadt Oberwart im Burgenland leben reformierte Christen neben römisch-katholischen und evangelischen. Die reformierte Pfarrgemeinde in Oberwart ist die einzige in Österreich, die seit der Refomationszeit ohne Unterbrechung besteht. 

Die Gemeindeglieder sind die Nachfahren der einstigen königlich-ungarischen Grenzwächter, die hier seit über eintausend Jahren ihre Heimat haben. Auf ihre große Vergangenheit weist der Name Oberwart hin. Die Grenzwächter besaßen Adelsprivilegien, sie waren dem ungarischen König direkt verantwortlich. Landesherren konnten sie in der Gegenreformationszeit nicht mit Gewalt in die Katholische Kirche zwingen. Die Stürme der Gegenreformation sind aber auch über Oberwart nicht spurlos hinweggezogen. Die ursprüngliche Kirche der Gemeinde wurde im Jahr 1673 von deutschen Söldnern mit Gewalt okkupiert und wieder katholisch gemacht, obwohl sich damals ganz Oberwart zum reformierten Glauben bekannte. In dieser heute römisch-katholischen, mittelalterlichen Kirche, deren Turm von den Reformierten errichtet wurde, erinnert auch heute noch eine Marmortafel an ihre "reformierte Vergangenheit".

Fast einhundert Jahre lang hielt dann die Gemeinde ihre Gottesdienste in einer Holzkirche ab. Diese Kirche diente aufgrund der Artikel des Beschlusses des Ödenburger Landtags aus dem Jahr 1681 als sogenannte "Artikularkirche", d.h. sie war für ein sehr weites Gebiet die einzige geduldete reformierte Gottesdienststätte. Die Gemeinde konnte sich jedoch das Recht erkämpfen, in den Jahren 1771-73, noch zehn Jahre vor dem Toleranzpatent Josefs II., die heutige Kirche zu errichten. 

Diese Kirche ist das älteste evanglische Gotteshaus auf dem Boden des heutigen Österreich. Das alte Pfarrhaus der Gemeinde wurde im Jahr 1784 erbaut und ist das älteste und eines der schönsten unter Denkmalschutz stehenden Arkadenhäuser des Südburgenlandes. 

Die reformierte Gemeinde Oberwart zählt heute etwa 1400 Gemeindeglieder. Die Gottesdienste und Gemeindearbeit erfolgen in deutscher und in ungarischer Sprache. Die ursprünglich rein ungarischsprachige Gemeinde ist mit dem Burgenland nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg zu Österreich gekommen und ist heute ein wertvoller Teil der Evangelisch-Reformierten Kirche Helvetischen Bekenntnisses in Österreich. 

Jahrhunderte hindurch hat diese Gemeinde, motiviert durch ihr Verantwortungsgefühl gegenüber Gott dem Herrn, ihr Schicksal angenommen und selbständig gestaltet. Ihr demokratisches, presbyterianisches System wies den Weg für die spätere diesbezügliche Entwicklung der Stadtgemeinde. Die Gemeinde ist zwar nur eine kleine Diaspora, d.h. eine kleine isolierte Minderheit, sie hat aber in der Vergangenheit wie auch in der Gegenwart große Bedeutung erlangt. 

Die seit dem 17. Jahrhundert bestehende reformierte Schule hatte bis zu ihrer Verstaatlichung im Jahr 1938 einen hervorragenden Ruf. Der Leseverein der Reformierten Jugend, der einer der ältesten Vereine des Burgenlandes ist und seit dem Jahr 1889 besteht, hat große Verdienste um die Kulturarbeit der Gemeinde erworben. In seinem Rahmen bestehen eine große ungarische Bibliothek, eine ungarische Volkstanzgruppe, eine Schauspielgruppe, die alljährlich Theaterstücke zur Aufführung bringt und weitere kulturelle Veranstaltungen. 

Auf internationaler Ebene hat die Gemeinde durch die "Oberwartkonferenz" (Konferenz reformierter Pfarrer aus Europa), sowie Jahrzehnte hindurch durch zahlreiche Radio- und Fernsehübertragungen in deutscher wie auch in ungarischer Sprache, weit über die Grenzen Österreichs hinaus Bekanntheit erlangt und wurde in schweren Zeiten zu einer Quelle der Kraft für den Glauben von Mitchristen in weiten Teilen Europas. 

Die reformierte Gemeinde war führend an der Verwirklichung des brüderlichen Geistes und der Ökumene zwischen den Konfessionen in Oberwart beteiligt. Zahlreiche gemeinsame Gottesdienste und andere ökumenische Veranstaltungen halfen den Gläubigen auf dem Weg zum gegenseitigen Kennenlernen und zur gegenseitigen Wertschätzung. 

Entscheidend ist aber das stets gerne und deutlich gegebenes Zeugnis dieser Gemeinde von ihrem Herrn, Jesus Christus.